Q&A Session with Christina & Alex

CHRISTINA KAMIS

1. What has been your favorite volleyball moment this season and why?
My most favorite volleyball moment this season was definitely our win against CNU. Yes, it was a big win from a stats standpoint, but the reason it was my favorite has nothing to do with the fact that we won. That game was the highest point of our season from a culture standpoint. Every single person contributed, and felt valued. When we won, it was a whole team effort, and every single member felt as much joy as the person next to them. It was a great day for General’s vball!

2. What has been your favorite non-volleyball related moment since the start of the fall and why?
My favorite non-volleyball related moment since the start of the fall was definitely move-in week. I live in the sorority house this year, and when everyone finally got to campus it was like Christmas. We all had so much snuggling/catching up to do, it was hard to find a quiet moment! It reminded me just how great my friends here are, and made me so excited for the year to come!

3. What surprised you the most this year and why?
I think what surprised me most about this year was how much easier it has been to manage school and volleyball. It is shocking how much more of a handle you have on things after freshman year! Things don’t seem nearly as overwhelming, and it is so much simpler arranging my priorities. So don’t worry Freshies! It gets better~*~*~*~

4. What was the best blog post of “The Season” thus far and why?
The Day in the Life of Kelly McManus deserves an Oscar**** (watch the first minute and it’s pretty self-explanatory)

5. What has been the biggest challenge this year and why?
The biggest challenge this year from a team perspective was reaching a point where everyone understood the heart of our culture. It took perhaps more effort this year than last to get everyone on the same page of what our program is about, and just how much it can give back to you if your give yourself whole-heartedly to it. It is such a joy seeing how far we’ve come, and the path we move towards now. We are moving forward with such positivity, and it puts us in a great spot for these upcoming matches.

6. What have you learned about yourself this year?
A lot of what I’ve learned about myself this year has to do with my injury. Due to Axillary nerve damage in my right shoulder, I have been unable to hit all season. I still am very much a part of the team, and do as much as a can in practice, but have not played a single point this season. What this all has shown me is how attached I am to this team and program. After finding out about my injury, I had to ask myself whether playing volleyball on this team was worth it with such a handicap. I am so happy that I chose to stick with this, because it has been immensely rewarding. I have learned that there are so many ways to contribute to a program other than scoring points in games, and how much my contributions matter. I know that some people can’t understand why I would still be so committed when I can’t play, but I couldn’t imagine ever not being a part of this program after this season.

7. What are your thoughts/feelings heading into the ODAC Semifinals on Saturday?
Heading into the ODAC semifinals on Saturday, I am extremely excited. Our team has the capability this year of getting extremely far in the post season as long as we take each match seriously. The semifinal will be just as important as the final, which will be just as important as every match that follows. The talent and culture of this team is what we are really going to have to stress to succeed, but I know that we are more than capable of doing so!

ALEX KINZER

1. What has been your favorite volleyball moment this season and why?
My favorite volleyball moment was beating Christopher Newport in four two weeks ago! We played with a high level of mental toughness, confidence, and aggression the entire match and handled everything they threw at us.

2. What has been your favorite non-volleyball related moment since the start of the fall and why?
My favorite non volleyball moment was our Volleybaccapella session on the bus on the way to Tennessee! We have an amazing set list: Happy Birthday, Silent Night, and Do You Believe in Magic. We spent most of the bus ride perfecting our newest song: I’ll Be by Edwin McCain. ***Please contact Kelly McManus for information regarding our upcoming performances!

3. What surprised you the most this year and why?
What surprised me the most was exactly how amazing our freshmen are! They came into preseason working incredibly hard and are a huge part of our incredible culture.

4. What was the best blog post of “The Season” thus far and why?
The best post of The Season was the Day in the Life of Kelly McManus post… Now the whole world knows the quirky, intriguing, and awesome person that is Kelly McManus.

5. What has been the biggest challenge this year and why?
To be honest, the biggest challenge has been handling the fact that every team we play is out to get us. We proved last year that we are the team to beat in the ODAC and beyond, and that means that every team we play gives us their best game, every game. It has required that we be mentally tough and prepared to respect every team that we play. Although this has been a challenge, I believe that this type of challenge is just what we need to win a national championship.

6. What have you learned about yourself this year?
I have learned a lot about what it means to be a Generals volleyball player off the court, by building relationships with my teammates that will last far beyond the whistle blows to end my final match here in a few years.

7. What are your thoughts/feelings heading into the ODAC Semifinals on Saturday?
I’m very confident going into ODACs. I know that we are the best team, but that every team that we play will want to beat us. We are going to have to take control of the match and execute our system, but I believe that we can win this.

Leave a Reply

